My Photo
Location: Vero Beach, Florida, United States

My name is Pat and I live in Florida. My skin will never be smooth again and my hair will never see color. I enjoy collecting autographs and playing in Paint Shop Pro.,along with reading and writing. Sometimes, I enjoy myself by doing volunteer "work" helping celebrities at autograph shows. I love animals and at one time I did volunteer work for Tippi Hedren's Shambala Preserve.

Monday, September 21, 2015

The Harvest Man

The  Harvest Man by Alex Grecian.

Series: Scotland Yard's Murder Squad (Book 4)
Hardcover: 400 pages
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons (May 19, 2015)
ISBN-10: 0399166440



Amazon Review....

Scotland Yard’s Murder Squad—and Jack the Ripper—return, in the extraordinary new historical thriller from the author of the acclaimed national bestseller The Yard.
In The Devil’s Workshop, London discovered that Jack the Ripper was back, sending the city—and Scotland Yard’s Murder Squad—into chaos. But now it is even worse. Not only is the Ripper still at large, but so is another killer just as bad.
For Inspector Walter Day, it has been a difficult time. His wife has given birth to twins, his hostile in-laws have come to stay, and a leg injury has kept him at his desk. But when the Harvest Man begins killing, carving people’s faces off their skulls, the Yard knows they need Day in the field.
Not so Sergeant Nevil Hammersmith. Rash actions have cost him his job, but that doesn’t stop his obsessive hunt for the Ripper. When the mutilated bodies of prostitutes start turning up again, Hammersmith enlists the help of a criminal network to stop Saucy Jack, his methods carrying him further and further from the ideals of the Yard, so far in fact that he may never be able to find his way back.
Of course, the Ripper’s been playing a game with him—with Walter Day, as well. He is pushing both of them to their limits, and what happens when they get there . . . no one can say.

This is the 4th book of the Scotland Yard's Murder Squad that Alex Grecian has written..and the fourth book of his I have read!

OMG!  These Alex Grecian books just keep getting better!!! 

This one open with a 3 page "preface" that is such a "Hook" you can't put the book down!

I mean.... this book contains three, (count them! THREE) murderers!  And one is: of course, Jack the Ripper. But the main hunt is for "The Harvest Man".  I don't think I want to describe his murders to you because they are gruesome!  Yet they make perfect sense to the murderer.

The first three Grecian books: The Yard, The Black Country, and The Devil's Workshop were all terrific, and could if wanted, be read without following the whole series.  The Murder Squad uses the same characters,  however the first 3 books all have a beginning, middle, and end... where as........................... The Harvest Man is left a bit of a cliffhanger!  And the next book doesn't come out until next MAY!!   I was fine waiting for the new books when there wasn't a cliffhanger!!!  Why did he have to go and do this to me??!!  ARGH!!. 

This is an excellent book and one I couldn't put down.  Excellent "Scotland Yard" stories if you are into that sort of thing.


Blogger Cath said...

Oh heck, you haven't got hooked on a series where you have a long wait for the next book?!!!! LOL!

5:39 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home