My Photo
Name:
Location: Vero Beach, Florida, United States

My name is Pat and I live in Florida. My skin will never be smooth again and my hair will never see color. I enjoy collecting autographs and playing in Paint Shop Pro.,along with reading and writing. Sometimes, I enjoy myself by doing volunteer "work" helping celebrities at autograph shows. I love animals and at one time I did volunteer work for Tippi Hedren's Shambala Preserve.

Tuesday, June 30, 2015

Moriarty

Moriarty by Anthony Horowitz.

Hardcover: 304 pages
Publisher: Harper (December 9, 2014)
ISBN-10: 0062377183

Amazon

The game is once again afoot in this thrilling mystery from the bestselling author of The House of Silk, sanctioned by the Conan Doyle estate, which explores what really happened when Sherlock Holmes and his arch nemesis Professor Moriarty tumbled to their doom at the Reichenbach Falls.

Internationally bestselling author Anthony Horowitz’s nail-biting new novel plunges us back into the dark and complex world of detective Sherlock Holmes and Moriarty—dubbed the Napoleon of crime” by Holmes—in the aftermath of their fateful struggle at the Reichenbach Falls.

Days after the encounter at the Swiss waterfall, Pinkerton detective agent Frederick Chase arrives in Europe from New York. Moriarty’s death has left an immediate, poisonous vacuum in the criminal underworld, and there is no shortage of candidates to take his place—including one particularly fiendish criminal mastermind.

Chase and Scotland Yard Inspector Athelney Jones, a devoted student of Holmes’s methods of investigation and deduction originally introduced by Conan Doyle in “The Sign of Four”, must forge a path through the darkest corners of England’s capital—from the elegant squares of Mayfair to the shadowy wharfs and alleyways of the London Docks—in pursuit of this sinister figure, a man much feared but seldom seen, who is determined to stake his claim as Moriarty’s successor.

A riveting, deeply atmospheric tale of murder and menace from one of the only writers to earn the seal of approval from Conan Doyle’s estate, Moriarty breathes life into Holmes’s dark and fascinating world.

I guess after having read The Fifth Heart, which concerns Sherlock Holmes that when I saw this book I decided to give it a read.  It helped that long ago I had read the authors other Holes book House of Silk.

The book was very well written.  It engages you in much of the Holmes traditions and actions, which leads you to believe that this might be the beginning of another duo such as Holmes and Watson and would have other stories to follow.  It seems that Jones is a big admirer of Holmes, and as the story begins it would seem that both Holmes and Moriarty have died during the struggle at Reichenbach Falls.

So much in the tradition of Holmes and Watson the two dive into finding the leader of a group of criminals that have taken over London.

A good mystery.. one that I never suspected would end the way it did, so this could be a book you too would enjoy.

Enough said.. I don't want to give away anything more then Amazon has!

2 Comments:

Blogger Cath said...

I really liked his House of Silk (which I bought in the supermarket. LOL) So if I see this one then I'll nab it as well as it sounds like I might like it. He's a good writer... he wrote Foyle's War, a TV crime series I love, set in WW2.

11:44 AM  
Blogger Debi said...

Oh my gosh, but this guy is prolific! After I read your post, I just had to check and see if he's the same guy who wrote these collections of horror short stories that Gray used to absolutely devour. He is, and it looks like he's written about a bazillion other books too. Ah, but before I even think about reading this one, I need to read some original Sherlock Holmes. I think I've only ever read one short story and The Hound of the Baskervilles.

7:38 PM  

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home