My Photo
Name:
Location: Vero Beach, Florida, United States

My name is Pat and I live in Florida. My skin will never be smooth again and my hair will never see color. I enjoy collecting autographs and playing in Paint Shop Pro.,along with reading and writing. Sometimes, I enjoy myself by doing volunteer "work" helping celebrities at autograph shows. I love animals and at one time I did volunteer work for Tippi Hedren's Shambala Preserve.

Friday, July 18, 2008

The Dragon's Lair

The Dragon's Lair (The Lost Journals of Ven Polypheme) by Elizabeth Haydon

Hardcover: 352 pages
Publisher: Starscape (July 8, 2008)
ISBN-10: 076530869X


Product Description

Barely one day after fulfilling his second mission for King Vandemere as Royal Reporter of the land of Serendair, young Charles Magnus Ven Polypheme—known as Ven—is off on another adventure. To keep them safe from the wrath of the Thief Queen, whose rage at their escape from the Gated City knows no bounds, the king sends Ven and his friends on an important mission.

Their journey takes them across a wondrous land filled with marvels—and danger. For the mission the king entrusts to Ven is a delicate one: to discover the cause of a dispute between two warring kingdoms—and the answer leads Ven straight into the lair of a very angry dragon….

Fans of The Floating Island and The Thief Queen’s Daughter—both chosen as Book Sense Children’s Picks—will love this third enchanting adventure in The Lost Journals of Ven Polypheme series by bestselling author Elizabeth Haydon.


This whole series of books, beginning with The Floating Island and then The Thief Queen's Daughter and now The Dragon's Lair have been very enjoyable!

Elizabeth Haydon has made most of her characters nonhuman. Ven himself, being a Nain. The earlier books told you enough about each character to make you interested in "what will happen next". She also concludes each books to a satisfactory ending without holding cliff-hangers over your head! And she recaps enough at the beginning of each book so that for people like myself who may not remember all of the last book, I don't have to reread it inorder to read the newest one!

If I were to make a complaint on this latest of her books about Ven I would say that things happened really quickly, and maybe the book could have been longer ! This is a good complaint though.. since it means I would have enjoyed reading it as a longer version!

I see she has the next title mentioned in this book, but it seemed uncertain at the end of the book if her next book will have the same protagonist or not... I hope so.. There's no doubt that I'd be happy to read another adventure with the young Nain and all of his young friends!

3 Comments:

Blogger Cath said...

It really does help when a new book in a series includes a bit about the last book. You don't always feel like rereading the last one but my memory isn't what it was and needs a gentle jogging sometimes. I love the sound of this series. Will check the library catalogue to see if it's available over here.

4:07 AM  
Blogger Bookfool said...

That's definitely a good complaint. I very seldom feel like I wish a book was longer.

Love the way you stuck the little dinosaur egg inside the book. That's a gorgeous cover.

7:24 PM  
Blogger DesLily said...

Cath: yes it does! lol.. but I do intend on rereading Inkheart and Inkspell before the end of sept. as the last book gets released Oct 7th

bookfool: things just seemed a little rushed ya know? And the character and the stories she's been writing I've enjoyed. I hope she's not rushing because of the publisher.

6:27 AM  

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home